Machinations


Congratulations
July 15, 2011, 5:05 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

Congratulations to Dr. Maxwell Young who successfully defended his dissertation on Resource-Efficient Communication in the Presence of Adversaries at the University of Waterloo yesterday.  Max got his Masters degree with me at UNM way back when I first started as a faculty member, and he was the very first student with whom I published a paper.  He’s hard-working, talented, and also a lot of fun to work with.  One of the great pleasures of academia is seeing student develop as researchers, and then have the possibility to continue to work with them as colleagues.  Max and I have been actively working together for many years now, and I’m looking forward to visiting him in Singapore  during his post doc with Seth Gilbert next year.

Congratulations Max!!!

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Man congrats to Max!! – I still remember his bad santa – good santa act!
BTW, who were the adversaries during the dissertation talk? – you said he defended his dissertation … in the presence of adversaries!! 🙂

Amitabh

Comment by Amitabh Trehan

I was participating via conference call so it was unclear who was wearing the Bad Santa suit. My best guess is that it donned by different members of the committee before asking some of the more challenging questions 🙂

Comment by Jared

🙂

Comment by Amitabh Trehan

Congratulations Max.

Comment by navin

Congratulations Max.

Comment by Mahnush Movahedi.

Thanks Jared, you’re the one who introduced me to the area of distributed computing several years ago when I was fresh out of undergrad and totally clueless – yet you still managed to show me how much fun research can be. I hope to keep learning from you for many years to come. Thanks for the kind words everyone!

-Max

Comment by Max




Leave a Reply

